My name is Kathy and I have an analog soul

What a weekend!

Still recovering from a long and fun weekend of food, fun, and great music at the Riverwalk Blues and Music Festival in Fort Lauderdale this past weekend.  Our friend Vena Paylo (wonderful music portrait artist) asked me to share a booth with her to sell our wares and I thought it would be great fun and we might just make some money at the same time!

Joel DaSilva's Pedal Board

Joel DaSilva's Strat

I had matted up many of my images that I thought would sell to a blues and other types of musical interests crowd.  I selected some of my New Orleans ones that I had just added to the website, along with many musical instrument “portraits” I have taken over the years.  I had two images relating to Joel DaSilva of the Hep Cat Boo Daddies (great hard rocking rockabilly style music) pedal board with voodoo doll and set list and one of his well-loved Fender Stratocaster guitar with a retro pinup style woman on it.  I also had another favorite local musician represented; Graham Wood Drout of Iko Iko’s (great “swampadelic” style) white Fender Stratocaster along with his amp that has his design of the Iko Iko logo snake.  I also had a handful of images of resonator guitars which are one of my favorites…they are just art in themselves!  I also love the way they sound 😉  Lastly, I thought some of my images from Clarksdale, Mississippi last year when we went to the Blues Music Awards in May would be appropriate.  I had one from Morgan Freeman’s club “Ground Zero” and a shot of “Red’s” famous juke joint.

Resonator

A Row of Resonators

It was a great festival and I sold WAY more work than I ever thought I would…including every music-related piece I brought.  I don’t think I missed any sales by not having selection though, which is good considering I wasn’t as prepared as I would have liked to have been.  Now I know more what to expect and think I’d love to do more blues related music festivals…they’re fun, the music is wonderful, and the crowd is generous and courteous…oh, and they have great taste in photography, of course 😉

Red's "Juke Joint"

Ground Zero Blues Club Window

Leave a Reply

