My name is Kathy and I have an analog soul

I love shooting cemeteries, graveyards, and tombs ;-)

"Hush" shot with Minoltina AL-s 35mm rangefinder

I was just going through my gallery on my website and realized how many images I have from cemeteries.  I don’t know what exactly draws me to them…a sense of history, a mystery of a life I never knew, or simply showing respect to those that have left this world.  I have been intrigued since I was very young and my brothers and I would sneak into graveyards to peek at the headstones.

"The Gaze of an Angel" shot with Pentax MX

Since my foray back into film photography, I have shot Key West Cemetery and Evergreen Cemetery in Fort Lauderdale fairly extensively.  I think my favorite subjects would have to be the angels…beautiful heavenly beings watching over the souls that have passed on.  Key West has some gorgeous hand carved marble angels that I adore.  There’s even one there that had an eerie light flare no matter what camera or angle I took it from.

"Diana's Angel" shot with Diana F+ camera

My favorite cameras for shooting in these environs have been my modern Diana F+ and vintage Diana, Ansco Pix plastic 35mm, and Minolta Minoltina AL-s 1960s rangefinder.

"Heaven's Gate" shot with plastic Ansco Pix 35mm camera

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I love shooting cemeteries, graveyards, and tombs ;-) « Analog Soul Photography -- Topsy.com

  2. David M. Habben

    I have been photographing cemeteries and grave sites for many years. It started off with blues musicians in the Chicago area. It then grew when I began finding websites and photos of the most beautiful and ornate monuments and statues. I now teach a class for Community Education on cemetery history and symbolism, and post many of my photos on Findagrave.com. I love your B/W photos. I shot 35mm up until about 2 years ago. Now I use a Nikon D-50 and a Kodak EasyShare Z1485-IS.

    2011/01/31 at 5:37 pm

    • That’s funny David…I’ve been on that website before doing research 😉 Sounds like a very interesting class you’re teaching there…as I said, this stuff fascinates me.

      2011/01/31 at 5:50 pm

  3. blackeyedangel

    I just came by here via shutter sisters and had to say hi as a fellow film freak! I too love to shoot graveyards……your Diana Angel is lovely!

    2011/02/05 at 3:35 am

Leave a Reply

