My name is Kathy and I have an analog soul

The Lovely Ladies…Original Diana Camera and Diana F+

The Lomography Diana F+ was the one that led me back down this filmy path I am on.  She was sitting on a shelf at the Urban Outfitters store where I saw her and fell immediately in love!  She was a remake of a camera I had when I was a wee lass of only six years old.  Dad had brought cameras back for all seven of us kids from overseas where he was stationed with the Air Force.  I guess these little plastic Dianas fit the bill quite well since they were cheap for a military budget for their seven offspring and lightweight to carry back with him.  Now there is this bright and shiny new model luring me back to the dreamy images of my youth!

I didn’t have the funds at the time to pick up this lovely lady, but the hubby knew how much I wanted her.  He found a store locally (oddly, we didn’t have an Urban Outfitters nearby) that sold the camera.  It was a clandestine trip for me to Bear & Bird Gallery at Tate’s Comics (http://www.tatescomics.com/bearandbird/) as I would later enter a Diana image in an exhibition there and continue to be a loyal customer.

One of the first outings with the Diana was Five Points in Jacksonville, Florida where I got this shot:

I loved the look of the heavy black vignetting and softness at the edges.  That, combined with the sharp center on the image gave it a dreamlike, ethereal quality.

After using this modern Diana camera, I thought more and more of the one I had as a child and wondered how it would compare.  I priced them out on internet auction sites, but they were a bit out of my range and with plastic cameras of that age, it was hard to tell what one would get.  So after figuring that wouldn’t happen, a friend of mine said he had one in the original box around somewhere and I could have it for a great price.  I jumped at the opportunity!

Too bad she came in the wrong box (mine is the non flash model and the box is for the flash model designated “Diana F”)

But she performed as I had remembered…although the mask on the film makes the image smaller than the new one.  I find that since the image was smaller, it allowed for less of the edge qualities of vignetting and softness.   I loved the images from her anyway…

I’ve acquired many other cameras since getting these two little ladies, but they both still hold special spots in my heart.  Just reminds me I need to get them out again soon 😉

2 responses

  1. Jim

    I had a Diana clone, the Lina, when I was a kid. I had a hundred old cameras in boxes and never quite got around to loading the Lina with film. Kind of regret it now! Anyway, I paid a dollar or something for it. I am astonished to see the new Dianas listed at $50!

    2011/01/19 at 9:52 pm

  2. Yeah, it’s funny with all of the clones that existed that I actually had the Diana…I distinctly remember the name. I was amazed to find out how many clones there were through Allan Detrich’s collection that can be seen here: http://www.allandetrich.com/diana.htm .

    The new Dianas are a tad pricey, but the only other alternative is the Holga which is priced similarly in the new market. I just had to have the Diana so I paid that price and didn’t regret it a bit 😉

    2011/01/19 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

