My name is Kathy and I have an analog soul

A Beautiful Day at the Bonnet House with my Pentax MX

Back in November for the hubby’s birthday, I decided to take him to the historic Bonnet House here on Fort Lauderdale Beach. They just happened to be having an orchid show, so I though it would be a great photo expedition for both of us. We’ve both needed a bit of inspiration so it was just what we needed.

I decided to bring my trusty old Pentax MX. I had one in high school and college, but it ended up with a faulty meter, so I sent it to my Dad to repair and never got it back.  This camera is one I purchased in an online auction for a very reasonable price and it came to me with a dented prism. I got some money back due to the fact that it made the hot shoe malfunction. I then proceeded to repair the hot shoe based in instructions I found on the internet and now have a fully functioning gem of a camera (albeit a tad battered looking ;-).

When we went in, there were crazy Spider Monkeys jumping through the canopy of trees overhead. I was shooting with my 50mm lens, so I couldn’t get any good shots though. The orchid show was beautiful and we were able to get some wonderful afternoon light on them.

Shot with Pentax MX SLR

"Drama" Shot with Pentax MX SLR

"Orchid Essence" shot with Pentax MX SLR

"The Orchid Twins" shot with Pentax MX SLR

The house itself was just beautiful too.  It was owned by an artistic and quirky family and it shows.  There is everything from classically beautiful art and sculptural pieces to very primitive tropical style paintings.  We weren’t allowed to photograph inside the house, but I got some decent images of outside and in the courtyard areas.

"1941 Cadillac" shot with Pentax MX SLR

"Fish & Fronds" shot with Pentax MX SLR

"Shadowing the Coquina" shot with Pentax MX SLR

One response

  1. The Twins is a great shot.

    2011/01/13 at 3:45 pm

Leave a Reply

